Enjoying the Quiet Moments

by becomingbethany

mostly_martha

I had never heard of this movie before last week.  I was just browsing the foreign language section of my local public library when I came across it.  I liked the cover.  I liked that it was about food.  I liked that it was in a foreign language.  And I liked that there was a cute little girl on the back cover.  That was all that went into my decision to borrow this DVD.  Never call me a film snob.

mostlymarthapic

Anyway, I watched it this evening and thoroughly enjoyed it!  Maybe because I had no expectations going into it.  Maybe because I was hungry when I watched it so all of the food shots looked extra delicious.  Maybe because I had a good day so I was feeling more generous in my criticism than usual.  But I think it was more than that.  This film delightfully portrays the simple beauty that can only be enjoyed in quiet moments.  The smell of rosemary before it is added to potatoes.  The color of rasberry sauce next to a chocolate mousse.  The feeling of a quick stolen moment of cool air in an otherwise hot stuffy room.  The glance of a stolen smile across a crowded kitchen.  All of these very small moments of beauty were highlighted and savored in this film.

The human interactions were all also about the quiet, simple moments of life that can be so quickly overlooked by the callous.  The developing relationship between the aunt and her niece was portrayed with true depth of emotion by the actors.  The developing romance between two chefs stuck in the same kitchen was full of humor and unexpected tenderness.  Though the film only runs 100 minutes, I felt that I was given time to just sit and observe.  Just like the preparation of a fine dinner, nothing was rushed.

It is a simple reminder to all of the Marthas of the world to slow down a little and look for glimpses of the beauty that surrounds.  It’s winking at you from the steel pots and peeking at you through the garlic cloves.  It’s waiting quietly on the counter for you to finish feverishly chopping and notice.  And more than notice, to enjoy.

All that to say, I felt like I was enjoying a thoughtfully prepared meal full of the only the best ingredients.  I highly recommend it.  Bon Appetit!

